Forgot username or password?  |  Create a CME account

Additional SMART Funding Available

Published by CME webmaster on June 14, 2010

Recently, the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario) signed an agreement to extend the SMART II funding program to March 31, 2011.  Additional funding has NOT been secured; however this extension has allowed the SMART II program the opportunity to receive new applications to replace a number of previously funded slots that have opened up under the program due to cancellations, bankruptcies and the inability to complete the projects on time.
New applications will begin to be accepted immediately until Wednesday, June 30, 2010 at 4:00 p.m.  All applications are subject to a full review by Industry Experts and will be ranked against other funded applications.  A decision will be made by August 15, 2010 on approval or rejection of the application. 
The following is the criteria that must be met to be eligible for funding.

  • Projects must be NEW projects and cannot have started or have incurred expenses prior to May 1, 2010. Incurred costs include issued purchase orders, invoiced purchases (including deposits), delivery of services, equipment or product and labour.
  • Projects must be able to be completed no later than January 31, 2011.  There are absolutely NO extensions beyond this date.  If the project is not completed by this time, no further funding will be allowed and any payments made to the manufacturer will be required to be returned to SMART.
  • Only one application per corporation. This includes subsidiaries. 
  • To be considered for funding, applications must be submitted by manufacturers. No third party applications will be accepted.
  • The company must be located in Southern Ontario per the Canada Consensus Division listed below.

Please make sure that the application has all relevant information. Due to the anticipated high demand, SMART will not be able to request and/or accept any amendments after the initial application is submitted.



Southern Ontario is defined as including the following 2006 Statistic Canada Census Divisions:

1 Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry; 2 Prescott and Russell; 6 Ottawa; 7 Leeds and Grenville; 9 Lanark; 10 Frontenac; 11 Lennox and Addington; 12 Hastings; 13 Prince Edward; 14 Northumberland; 15 Peterborough; 16 Kawartha Lakes; 18 Durham; 19 York; 20 Toronto; 21 Peel; 22 Dufferin; 23 Wellington; 24 Halton; 25 Hamilton; 26 Niagara; 28 Haldimand-Norfolk; 29 Brant; 30 Waterloo; 31 Perth; 32 Oxford; 34 Elgin; 36 Chatham-Kent; 37 Essex; 38 Lambton; 39 Middlesex; 40 Huron; 41 Bruce; 42 Grey; 43 Simcoe; 46 Haliburton; and 47 Renfrew.

Click Here to view the communities that form part of each Census Division.

Found in: SMART news story

Ottawa Web Design

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan