Forgot username or password?  |  Create a CME account

CME clarifies record on its position on the Pickering Nuclear Facility

Published by Stefi Proulx on May 25, 2018

It has come to the attention of Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters (CME) that the Ontario Clean Air Alliance, an anti-nuclear group, has circulated an e-mail to supporters which included an extract of a previous submission that was submitted to the Ontario Energy Board (OEB). This has been taken out of context and our comments were in respect to the component of the Ontario Power Generations (OPG's) 2017-2021 Payment Amounts application relating to the incremental costs of extending operations at the Pickering nuclear facility announced by the Government of Ontario back in January 2016. As a non-partisan trade association, CME would like to reinforce its support of nuclear power and believes it's the backbone of Ontario's electricity system. We have published the following links below that re-clarifies the record.

Further reading: 

About the Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters:

Since 1871, Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters has been helping manufacturers grow at home and thrive around the world. In 2016, CME released Industrie 2030 - a roadmap for doubling Canadian manufacturing activity by 2030. Our focus is to ensure the sector is dynamic, profitable, productive, innovative and growing. We aim to do this by strengthening the labour force, accelerating the adoption of advanced technology, supporting product commercialization, expanding marketplaces and, most importantly, ensuring a globally-competitive business environment. CME is a member-driven association that directly represents more than 2,500 leading companies who account for an estimated 82 per cent of manufacturing output and 90 per cent of Canada's exports.

For more information, please contact:

Stefi Proulx
Director of Communications & Branding 
Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters


Found in: energy

Ottawa Web Design

National Office

Alberta British Columbia
Manitoba New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador Nova Scotia
Ontario Québec
Prince Edward Island Saskatchewan